Back to Archive News



(Denison, IA) – The Crawford County Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Association recently approved the appointment of new officers to their Board of Directors for two-year terms to 2020. Appointed as president was Larry Dreesen of the Vail Fire & Rescue while the vice-president is Terri Patrick of the Manilla Ambulance service. Also appointed to the Board as secretary is Marge Gordon from the Dow City/Arion Ambulance service.

The EMS Association representative to the Crawford County Fire Fighter Association is Terri Patrick from the Manilla Ambulance service. Bruce Musgrave, Ambulance director for Crawford County Memorial Hospital (CCMH) will continue to serve as liaison and advisor to the EMS Association.

The Crawford County EMS Association was founded in March 2015 with the first appointed officers. The EMS Association voting members are associated with a Crawford County volunteer department that serves at least at a first responder level. This includes the communities of Charter Oak, Deloit, Dow City/Arion, Kiron, Manilla, Schleswig, Vail, and Westside. The EMS Association also has non-voting membership affiliated with the Crawford County Ambulance Service, Crawford County Medical Director, Crawford County Emergency Manager, Crawford County Law Enforcement, Crawford County Public Health, Hospice & Home Health, and the Denison Fire Department. Input from guests within the community or surrounding allied services are also welcomed.

The Crawford County EMS Association offers the framework for enhancing the emergency care, procedures, and processes throughout the county by providing annual emergency medical skills verification for providers at all levels.

Additional projects for the EMS Association including celebrating EMS week, sponsoring an open house and EMS provider dinner, continuing education opportunities, and education and awareness programs in schools throughout Crawford County.

The EMS Association meets every other month, on the second Tuesday. To learn more about the Crawford County EMS Association, contact Bruce Musgrave at CCMH by phoning 712-265-2517 or emailing at